Delhi Daredevils turned Delhi Capitals: All you need to know

Enquire Now
Delhi Daredevils

On December 5th 2018, the team of Delhi Daredevils got completely transformed. The team unveiled an all-new name – Delhi Capitals and will be seen sporting new colours and jersey in the twelfth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The new name “Delhi Capitals” is inspired by the exclusive identity of Delhi: as the capital of India. However, the emergence of Delhi Capitals is more than a mere change in name. It represents a change of identity which now, is more in line with the spirit of Delhi.

This upcoming season, the team will sport a completely new logo featuring three key elements: three pouncing tigers, a shield and a crown, each element representing the city. The ferocious tigers symbolize the ‘hungry to win’ attitude of Delhi, while the shield represents a strong defensive side that is equally important in cricket. The crowning of the logo is inspired by Delhi’s premier identity and represents ‘The Parliament’, the centre of all the action in the country.


When it comes to colours, the team will sport its former blue and red, symbolizing Delhi’s steadfast confidence while the latter represents its raw edge. Beyond these two colours, you can also find yellow highlights in the team’s new jersey, which represent vitality amidst its ferocious attitude. This new look symbolizes a team that is high on energy, attitude, and its strategies.

“We, at JSW Sports, are proud to be associated with the capital city of India and wanted our team, our players and our fans to wear that fact with pride. With a new name, logo and look, Delhi Capitals’ vision is to keep entertaining their fans through their excellent performance, both on and off the field. We also want to revolutionize the way the fans connect and engage with their favourite franchise. We believe a change in identity for the club was necessary to effectively live and breathe this vision.” said Parth Jindal, Co-Owner and Chairman, Delhi Capitals.

Adding to the same, Kiran Kumar Gandhi, Co-Owner of Delhi Capitals, said “The new name symbolizes Delhi’s identity and just like the city, we aim to be the centre of all the action as we go forward. The name also represents our desire to become a dynamic organization focused on creating opportunities for social, cultural and athletic connections. Our team today is an eclectic mix of youth and experience and we are hungry to emerge victoriously. This is the ‘new’ Delhi Capitals and we are ready to enthral the audience in the coming season of IPL.”

“Our relationship with the Delhi franchise goes back few years, and in those initial time we have been able to forge some great chemistry with the players, operating contributors & the management. I personally believe that all teams are only as good as their managers & contributors, and cricket is a team sport.


As long as the core ethos, passion, commitment & vision remain intact, success is only a matter of time.

The main reason of Daikin partnering with the Delhi franchise is to create an ecosystem where we enjoy the sporting experience & play a fair game of cricket & I am confident that the new management DC will take it to new heights,” said Mr.Kanwaljeet Jawa, MD & CEO Daikin India.

However, it’s not just the name and colours that are new. The Delhi Capitals’ squad for this season includes a good mix of experienced veterans and young talent. Earlier this year, the team acquired Shikhar Dhawan. At the IPL Auctions for this season, the Delhi Capitals spent their purse wisely to score some hard hitters like Colin Ingram, Axar Patel and Ishant Sharma.

Here’s the full squad of Delhi Capitals for the year 2019:

Players Retained: Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane, Trent Boult.

Traded: Shikhar Dhawan

Players Added: Hanuma Vihari, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Ankush Bains , Nathu Singh, Colin Ingram, Sherfane Rutherford, Keemo Paul, Jalaj Saxena, Bandaru Ayyappa.

Sporting a new look and identity, the Delhi Capitals are all set to make a smashing resurgence in the twelfth season of the IPL. With leaders like Captain Shreyas Iyer, Shikhar Dhawan, Head Coach Ricky Ponting and Assistant Coach Mohammad Kaif at the helm, the team is looking forward to the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League.


Add new comment

Customer Support Information: Give A Missed Call: @ 9210188999, Call Our Customer Contact Centre: 011-40319300 / 1860 180 3900 or Write To Us at: